It’s A Disease

I remember the time when I was so full of literature

That I was sick to my stomach, and it was contagious.

I was puking pages, spitting up libraries,

I was in such a mess with Poetry that her words were tangled in my hair.

I was only ever able to cry letters

And it seemed almost normal to send them off to the sea in bottles,

I was hopeful that a sailor might find them

And understand.

But now I realize that I can’t invite other people into this battlefield between me and

This wall every other writer runs into.

Have you ever heard someone say “I’m ready for the disease”?

Because I’m so ready for it to take me away.

I want to sink my teeth into a book

And draw ink.

I’m ready for pages to pile up until there’s no living space for myself anymore.

I’ll stop being selfish with keeping my words to myself

Because I have so much to share with the world

And Poetry,

You’re the one way I know how.

I’ll stop swallowing pills that are lethal to you,

So spread me your virus.

Writers block is an interesting thing. She comes in armies leaving you defeated for an unpredictable amount of time, then disintegrates into just enough faerie dust to inspire you. This time, writers block crashed at my house for about a month and left without a sound Friday night, I’m still cleaning up the mess she left. This was the longest time I’ve spent with her, and the first time I’ve ever been inspired to write about her. I wonder if my inspiration had anything to do with the full moon? Maybe she went for a long walk under the moonlight and bumped in to a new victim, all I can do is wish them luck.

Enough about my frenemy, let’s celebrate the beautiful weather! For the past few weeks I have been anticipating the cold, I honestly missed it. Being able to bundle up in a blanket and sit on the couch with a warm cup of tea in the morning is such a wonderful thing to do. The only thing I miss, being in an apartment, is a fireplace. I loved the smell of the fire and the warmth it brought. Being able to roast marshmallows with my family was fun too.

You can call me crazy for enjoying the cold, but I think that Autumn and Winter are beautiful seasons, as are Spring and Summer. Winter is my favorite though, don’t tell the others.

Leave a Reply

